Imperial Dreams

“Return of the Jedi” (1983) Matte painting by Mike Pangrazio

“Return of the Jedi” (1983) Matte painting by Chris Evans (low-rez)

It is false, to always claim that the past was better than the present. In some ways, yes, but not in most ways.

Even so… I wish that Traveller would inspire dreams, and visions, of a grand, inspiring, yet dangerous future.

(Here, I searched everywhere for ‘the burial of the stormtroopers’, a sketch of Joe Johnson in the Art of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back book. No dice.

So I am left with only words instead of a picture: “There are no real victories, without real prices paid.”)

I am far too much the grim realist to lead the way here. I am too strongly tied to what is, and not close enough to what can be.

But at least I know what I am missing: I know what I can’t do.

I wait in hope.

About Alvin Plummer

I'm working to build a better world, a world that blesses Christ and is blessed by Him. I hope that you're doing the same!
This entry was posted in Jumpspace Transmission, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

